deepak

2016 Ekadashi fasting days for Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh, India

deepak
Useful Tips on
Panchang
Switch to Hindi
Empty
Title
2016 Ekadashi Dates
Year:
Globe
Search for city:
2016 Ekadashi fasting days for Ujjain, India

2016 Ekadashi fasting days

Goddess Ekadashi
Yoga Maya of Lord Vishnu - Goddess Ekadashi
Ekadashi fasting is observed on every 11th Tithi in Hindu calendar. There are two Ekadashi fasting in a month, one during Shukla Paksha and another during Krishna Paksha. Devotees of Lord Vishnu observe Ekadashi fasting to seek His blessings.

Ekadashi fasting spans for three days. Devotees take single meal in the afternoon a day before fasting day to make sure there is no residual food in the stomach on next day. Devotees keep strict fast on Ekadashi day and break the fast on next day only after sunrise. Eating of all type of grains and cereals is prohibited during Ekadashi fasting.

Devotees can choose to observe fasting without water, with only water, with only fruits, with one time latex food according to their will and body power. However it should be decided before starting the fast.
kalash 2016 kalash
decoration
05 January (Tuesday) Saphala Ekadashi
06 January (Wednesday) Vaishnava Saphala Ekadashi
20 January (Wednesday) Pausha Putrada Ekadashi
04 February (Thursday) Shattila Ekadashi
18 February (Thursday) Jaya Ekadashi
05 March (Saturday) Vijaya Ekadashi
19 March (Saturday) Amalaki Ekadashi
03 April (Sunday) Papmochani Ekadashi
04 April (Monday) Gauna Papmochani Ekadashi
Vaishnava Papamochani Ekadashi
17 April (Sunday) Kamada Ekadashi
03 May (Tuesday) Varuthini Ekadashi
17 May (Tuesday) Mohini Ekadashi
01 June (Wednesday) Apara Ekadashi
16 June (Thursday) Nirjala Ekadashi
30 June (Thursday) Yogini Ekadashi
01 July (Friday) Gauna Yogini Ekadashi
Vaishnava Yogini Ekadashi
15 July (Friday) Devshayani Ekadashi
30 July (Saturday) Kamika Ekadashi
14 August (Sunday) Shravana Putrada Ekadashi
28 August (Sunday) Aja Ekadashi
13 September (Tuesday) Parsva Ekadashi
26 September (Monday) Indira Ekadashi
12 October (Wednesday) Papankusha Ekadashi
26 October (Wednesday) Rama Ekadashi
10 November (Thursday) Devutthana Ekadashi
11 November (Friday) Gauna Devutthana Ekadashi
Vaishnava Utthana Ekadashi
25 November (Friday) Utpanna Ekadashi
10 December (Saturday) Mokshada Ekadashi
24 December (Saturday) Saphala Ekadashi
decoration
At times Ekadashi fasting is suggested on two consecutive days. It is advised that Smartha with family should observe fasting on first day only. The alternate Ekadashi fasting, which is the second one, is suggested for Sanyasis, widows and for those who want Moksha. When alternate Ekadashi fasting is suggested for Smartha it coincides with Vaishnava Ekadashi fasting day.

Ekadashi fasting on both days is suggested for staunch devotees who seek for love and affection of Lord Vishnu.

This page list Ekadashi fasting days for Smarthas. Vaishnavas should check Vaishnava Ekadashi Fasting to know Vaishnava fasting days. Vaishnava fasting day might be one day after of Smartha fasting day.
Google+ Badge
 
facebook button