Hindi
Empty
Please Donate
www.drikPanchang.com
Useful Tips on
Panchang
Title
2014 Karthigai Days
Year:
Globe
Search for city:
2014 Karthigai Nakshatra Days for Woodbridge, United States
    < Prev Year Current Year Next Year >

Karthigai Nakshatra Dates 2014

Karthigai Deepam
Karthigai Deepam
Karthigai Deepam is mainly celebrated by Tamil Hindus. It is one of the oldest festivals celebrated by Tamil people. Houses and streets are lit up with rows of oil lamps or Deepam in the evening of the festival day.

Karthigai Deepam and Karthikai Deepam are used interchangeably. Karthigai Deepam takes its name from Nakshatra Karthikai or Krittika. Karthigai Deepam is performed on the day when Krittika Nakshatra is prevailing. Karthigai Deepam is done in honor of Lord Shiva. According to Hindu Mythology on this day Lord Shiva converted himself in an endless flame of light to prove his supremacy to Lord Vishnu and Lord Brahma.

Although Karthigai day is observed every month but the most significant day falls in month of Karthikai (which is same as Solar month Vrischika in other Hindu calendars). DrikPanchang.com lists all Karthikai days in the year including the most significant Karthikai day which is known as Karthikai Deepam.
kalash 2014 kalash
decoration
10 January (Friday) Masik Karthigai
07 February (Friday) Masik Karthigai
06 March (Thursday) Masik Karthigai
02 April (Wednesday) Masik Karthigai
30 April (Wednesday) Masik Karthigai
27 May (Tuesday) Masik Karthigai
23 June (Monday) Masik Karthigai
20 July (Sunday) Masik Karthigai
17 August (Sunday) Masik Karthigai
13 September (Saturday) Masik Karthigai
11 October (Saturday) Masik Karthigai
07 November (Friday) Masik Karthigai
04 December (Thursday) Karthigai Deepam
decoration
Karthigai festival in Tiruvannamalai hills is very famous. On Karthigai day, a huge fire lamp is lit up on the hill, visible for several kilometers around the hill. The fire or Deepam is called Mahadeepam, Hindu devotees visit here and pray to God Shiva.

W3C HTML5
Follow @drikpanchang
Google+ Badge
 
facebook button