Hindi
Empty
www.drikPanchang.com
ॐ पुराण पुरुषाय नमः।
deepak
Globe

2014 Purnima fasting, Pournami Fasting dates for Ashburn, Virginia, United States

deepak
Useful Tips on
Panchang
Title
2014 Purnima Vrat
 
Year:
2014 Purnima Fasting Dates for Ashburn, United States
   

2014 Purnima Fasting Days

Purnima Full Moon
Purnima fasting might be observed either on Purnima day or on one day before Purnima day i.e. on Chaturdashi day depending on starting time of Purnima Tithi on previous day.

Purnima fasting on Chaturdashi occurs only when Purnima starts during Madhyana period on previous day. It is believed that if Chaturdashi prevails beyond Madhyana then it pollutes Purnima Tithi and this Chaturdashi day should not be considered for Purnima fasting even if Purnima prevails during evening. There are no two opinions on this rule and DrikPanchang.com lists Purnima fasting days according to this rule.
kalash 2014 kalash
decoration
15 January (Wednesday) Paush Purnima
14 February (Friday) Magha Purnima
15 March (Saturday) Phalguna Purnima
14 April (Monday) Chaitra Purnima
14 May (Wednesday) Vaishakha Purnima
12 June (Thursday) Jyaishta Purnima
11 July (Friday) Ashadha Purnima
10 August (Sunday) Shravana Purnima
08 September (Monday) Bhadrapada Purnima
07 October (Tuesday) Ashwin Purnima
06 November (Thursday) Kartik Purnima
05 December (Friday) Margashirsha Purnima
decoration
In North India full moon day is known as Purnima or Poornima. However in South India full moon day is known as Pournami or Pournima and fasting on this day is known as Pournami Vratam. Pournami Vratam is observed from sunrise to till sighting of the moon.

Pournami Fasting days might not be same for two locations. Hence one should set the location before noting down Pournami Vratam dates.

 
 
W3C HTML5
Follow @drikpanchang
Google+ Badge
 
facebook button