Android Play StoreIOS App Store

Indian Holidays | Public Holidays in India


Indian Holidays

Public Holidays in India

National Holidays in India

In India, three days are declared as national holidays which are observed across all Indian states unanimously.

  1. Independence Day (also known as Swatantrata Diwas)
  2. Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday
  3. Republic Day (also known as Gantantra Diwas)

Islamic Holidays

  1. Eid al-Fitr (also known as Ramazan-Id)
  2. Eid al-Adha (also known as Bakrid or Feast of the sacrifice)

Christian Holidays

  1. Good Friday
  2. Easter Sunday
  3. Christmas

Holidays in Government Offices

Central and State governments in India annually issue list of holidays to be observed in respective government offices during the respective year. Apart from this local administration at district level also issue list of additional holidays known as Local Holidays, which are observed at district level. The list is divided into two parts -

  • Gazetted Holidays
  • Restricted Holidays

The list of Gazetted Holidays consists those holidays which are mandatory once decided. This list consists of two parts.

Gazetted Holidays - Part 1

This list consists those holidays which are to be observed compulsorily across India. These holidays are

  1. Republic Day
  2. Independence Day
  3. Gandhi Jayanti
  4. Buddha Purnima
  5. Christmas
  6. Dussehra (also known as Vijayadashami)
  7. Diwali (also known as Deepavali)
  8. Good Friday
  9. Guru Nanak's Birthday
  10. Eid ul-Fitr
  11. Eid al-Adha (also known as Bakrid)
  12. Mahavir Swami Jayanti
  13. Muharram
  14. Prophet Mohammad's Birthday (also known as Id-e-Milad)

Gazetted Holidays - Part 2

In addition to the above compulsory holidays in Part 1, three additional holidays are decided from the Part 2.

  1. An Additional day for Dussehra
  2. Holi
  3. Janmashtami
  4. Rama Navami
  5. Maha Shivaratri
  6. Ganesh Chaturthi (also known as Vinayaka Chaturthi)
  7. Makar Sankranti
  8. Onam
  9. Shri Panchami (also known as Vasant Panchami)
  10. Samvat New Year / Solar New Year

Restricted holidays

The list of Restricted Holidays consists of those holidays which are optional. Each employee is allowed to avail any two holidays out of the list of Restricted Holidays.

  1. New Year
  2. Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
  3. Makar Sankranti
  4. Basanta Panchami
  5. Guru Ravidas Jayanti
  6. Holi
  7. Vaisakhi (also known as Baisakhi)
  8. Janmashtami
  9. Vishwakarma Puja
  10. Eid ur-Fitr
  11. Anant Chaturdashi
  12. Dussehra / Maha Ashtami
  13. Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
  14. Narak Chaturdashi
  15. Eid al-Adha (also known as Bakid)
  16. Guru Teg Bahadur Shahid Diwas
  17. Muharram
  18. Christmas

Bank Holidays

In banks, as per the instructions issued by the banking division of the Department of Economic Affairs, total holidays in a year are restricted to 15 days.

  1. Bank's Holiday
  2. Gandhi Jayanti
  3. Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti
  4. Kashiram Death Anniversary (*cancelled)
  5. Maha Navami
  6. Dussehra (also known as Vijayadashami)
  7. Diwali (also known as Deepavali)
  8. Govardhan Puja
  9. Bhai Dooj / Chitragupta Jayanti
  10. Eid al-Adha (also known as Bakrid)
  11. Guru Nanak's birthday (also known as Kartik Purnima)
  12. B. R. Ambedkar Nirvan Diwas
  13. Muharram
  14. Christmas
Copyright Notice
PanditJi Logo
All Images and data - Copyrights
Ⓒ www.drikpanchang.com
Privacy Policy
Drik Panchang and the Panditji Logo are registered trademarks of drikpanchang.com
Android Play StoreIOS App Store
Drikpanchang Donation