Sign InSign In SIGN INAndroid Play StoreIOS App StoreSetting
COVID-19 Pandemic
Mesha Rashifal
Vrishabha Rashifal
Mithuna Rashifal
Karka Rashifal
Simha Rashifal
Kanya Rashifal
Tula Rashifal
Vrishchika Rashifal
Dhanu Rashifal
Makara Rashifal
Kumbha Rashifal
Meena Rashifal

DeepakTamil Festivals | List of Important Tamil FestivalsDeepak

Switch to Legacy UI

Tamil Festivals

Following is the list of most famous and popular Tamil Festivals in Tamil Nadu, India.

List of Tamil Festivals

Prominent Tamil Festivals

List of important Tamil festivals with brief description which are based on Tamil Solar Calendar.

  1. Thai Pongal - Pongal is a Hindu festival which is observed by people of Tamil Nadu on the first day of Thai Masam.
  2. Puthandu - Puthandu is also known as the Tamil New Year or Varusha Pirappu. It is observed on first day of Tamil month Chithirai.
  3. Deepavali - In Tamil Nadu, Deepavali is observed when Chaturdashi Tithi prevails during Brahma Muhurat i.e. just before sunrise.
  4. Kedar Gauri Vrat - Kedar Gauri Vrat is mainly observed in Southern Indian states especially in Tamil Nadu. It is also known as Kedara Vratham.
  5. Karthigai Deepam -The day when Karthigai Nakshatra coincides with Pournami in Tamil month Karthikai (Vrischika Zodiac) is known as Karthigai Deepam.
  6. Soorasamharam - For Tamil Hindus, Soorasamharam is the final and the most important event of the six days Kanda Sashti festivities.
  7. Panguni Uthiram - Panguni Uthiram is an important day for Tamil Hindus. It is observed in Panguni month when Nakshatra Uthiram or Uttara Phalguni prevails.
  8. Vaikuntha Ekadashi - It is believed that Vaikuntha Dwaram is opened on this day and devotees who observe fast on Vaikuntha Ekadashi attain salvation.
  9. Vaikasi Visakam - Vaikasi Visakam is celebrated as birthday of Lord Murugan. It is celebrated during Visakam Nakshatra in the Tamil month Vaikasi.
  10. Thai Pusam - Thaipusam or Thai Poosam is a Hindu festival celebrated mostly by the Tamil community. It falls in Tamil Solar month Thai.
  11. Karadaiyan Nombu - Karadaiyan Nombu or Karadayan Nonbu is a major Tamil festival which is celebrated at the time on Meena Sankranti or Sankramana.
  12. Masi Magam - Masi Magam, also known as Maasi Makam, is a Tamil Hindu festival which is celebrated by Tamil speaking people.
  13. Hanumath Jayanthi - Hanumath Jayanthi is observed during Margashirsha Amavasya and falls in January or December.
  14. Arudra Darshan - Arudra Darshan is observed during Margashirsha Amavasya and falls in January or December.
  15. Avani Avittam - On Avani Avittam, Brahmins ritually change their Upanayana thread along with Shrauta rituals.
  16. Chitra Pournami - Chitra Pournami is dedicated to Lord Chitragupta.
Copyright Notice
PanditJi Logo
All Images and data - Copyrights
Ⓒ www.drikpanchang.com
Privacy Policy
Drik Panchang and the Panditji Logo are registered trademarks of drikpanchang.com
Android Play StoreIOS App Store
Drikpanchang Donation