Bhadrapada Month Festivals for Hindu Calendar

Useful Tips on
Bhadrapada Festivals
Bhadrapada - Bhadrapada is the 6th lunar month in Hindu calendar. In Hindu Calendar, there are two methods to mark the lunar month. In one, lunar month is marked from Purnima to Purnima (known as Purnimanta calendar) and in other lunar month is marked from Amavasya to Amavasya (known as Amanta calendar).

If you are not sure which calendar you follow and find that festivals are NOT listed under correct lunar months then please click on the switch button at the right side. Once you click on the button, you will get alternate listing of Hindu festivals.

List of Bhadrapada Festivals
  1. Kajari Teej - Next Teej after Hariyali Teej which comes after fifteen days of Hariyali Teej is known as Kajari Teej.

  2. Krishna Janmashtami - Krishna Janmashtami is a festival commemorating the birth of Lord Krishna. Lord Krishna was the eighth incarnation of Vishnu's Dashavatara.

  3. Aja Ekadashi - Aja Ekadashi is one of the twenty four Ekadashi vrats which are observed to seek blessing of Lord Vishnu.

  4. Dahi Handi - Dahi Handi is a famous sportive event organized in the cities of Maharashtra and Goa. Dahi Handi is celebrated on the next day of Krishna Janmashtami.

  5. Gayatri Japam - Gayatri Japam day is linked with Upakarma day and it is observed on the next of Shravani Upakarma day.

  6. Hartalika Teej - Haritalika Teej comes one month after Hariyali Teej and most of the time celebrated one day before Ganesh Chaturthi.

  7. Ganesh Chaturthi - On Ganesh Chaturthi devotees worship Lord Ganesha. Lord Ganesha is worshipped as the god of wisdom, prosperity and good fortune.

  8. Rishi Panchami - Rishi Panchami is not a festival but a fasting day observed by women to pay obeisance to the Sapta Rishis and to get purified from Rajaswala Dosha.

  9. Radha Ashtami - Radha Ashtami celebrates the birth of Radha, who was the consort of the Lord Krishna during the period of his life when he lived among the cowherds of Vrindavana.

  10. Parsva Ekadashi - Parsva Ekadashi is one of the twenty four Ekadashi vrats which are observed to seek blessing of Lord Vishnu.

  11. Ganesh Visarjan - On Ganesh Visarjan day the idol of Ganesha is immersed in water body, usually in lakes or ponds after a large procession.

  12. Vamana Jayanti - Vamana Jayanti is the birth anniversary of Lord Vishnu. Vamana was the fifth incarnation of Lord Vishnu during Treta Yuga.

  13. Mahalakshmi Vrat - Mahalakshmi Vrat begins on Shukla Ashtami during Bhadrapada month which comes after four days of Ganesha Chaturthi.

  14. Anant Chaturdashi - Anant Chaturdashi is the most significant day to worship Lord Vishnu in Anant form. On this day devotees of Lord Vishnu observe a day long fast and tie sacred thread during Puja.

  15. Durva Ashtami - Durvashtami Vrat is observed during Shukla Paksha Ashtami in the month of Bhadrapada. Durva Ashtami Vrat is mainly observed by women.

« Last Shravana Festivals Next Ashwin Festivals »
Google+ Badge
facebook button