Android Play StoreIOS App Store

Dwadasha Jyotirlinga | 12 Jyotirlinga | Twelve Forms of Lord Shiva


Dwadasha Jyotirlinga

Dwadasha Jyotirlinga - 12 Forms of Lord Shiva

Lord Shiva is one of the most popular and prominent deities worshipped in the Hindu religion. He is one of the three major deities (Brahma, Vishnu, Mahesh) of Hinduism, collectively known as Trimurti. Lord Shiva is the only deity who is worshipped in the form of Linga. Jyotirlinga is considered to be the actual personification of Lord Shiva and is filled with divine supernatural energy.

According to the description found in Shiva Purana, Lord Shiva himself is situated in the form of Jyotirlingas at twelve different places on earth, these twelve divines Jyotirlinga forms of Lord Bholenath Shiva are collectively known as Dwadasha Jyotirlinga. It is noteworthy that Shivalingas are those which are established by any god, sage and normal human being etc. But when Lord Shiva himself incarnates in the form of Linga to fulfil some special purpose, then this divinely luminous form of Bholenath is worshipped in the form of Jyotirlinga. That is, there can be many Shivalingas, but Jyotirlingas are located only in twelve places, which are called Dwadasha Jyotirlingas. There are different types of Lingas described in Vedic scriptures like Devalinga, Asuralinga, Puranalinga and Banalinga etc.

Regarding the appearance of Jyotirlinga, there is an incident in Shivmahapurana that, once there was a discord between Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu on some issue, for the resolution of which both of them appeared before Lord Shiva and prayed to him, as a result of which Lord Shiva became extremely giant. He appeared in the form of a pillar of fire and asked both the deities to find out the end of that pillar of fire. Ultimately, when both of them failed and the dispute was resolved. This incorporeal glowing fire pillar form of Lord Bholenath Shiva is known as Jyotirlinga.

Similarly, Lord Shiva Shambhu has incarnated in twelve different forms for the welfare of human beings and the salvation of the world on earth. These twelve forms are situated in the form of Jyotirlinga at different places.

According to the description found in Shri Shiva Mahapurana, Kailashpati Lord Shiva himself is present on earth in the form of twelve Jyotirlingas like, Somnath in Saurashtra, Mallikarjuna on Srishail, Mahakal in Ujjaini, Amareshwara in Omkar, Kedar on Himalayas, Bhimshankara in Dakini, Vishwanath in Kashi, Trimbakeshwara on the banks of Gautami, Vaidyanath in Chitabhoomi, Nageshwara in Darukvan Rameshwaram on Setubandha and Ghushmeshwara in Shivalaya. By merely touching, seeing or remembering these twelve Jyotirlingas every day, a person attains, peace, prosperity and happiness. All the wishes get fulfilled by worshipping Dwadasha Jyotirlinga.

To know the location, appearance, form and significance of the twelve Jyotirlingas, visit the pages of the respective Jyotirlingas.

Copyright Notice
PanditJi Logo
All Images and data - Copyrights
Ⓒ www.drikpanchang.com
Privacy Policy
Drik Panchang and the Panditji Logo are registered trademarks of drikpanchang.com
Android Play StoreIOS App Store
Drikpanchang Donation